switchtorealfood

Leftovers are good if healthy

In Healthy Lunches on January 5, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Multigrain Rotini with Picadillo Sauce

This was my dinner last night so I warmed up the leftovers and added a few more tomatoes and fresh parsley.  Taking pictures of my lunch is making me eat better looking food!  I used multigrain pasta instead of whole wheat since whole wheat pasta is inedible.  I’m glad I discovered the multigrain version.  In any case, it is not Kraft mac and cheese so I think it must be healthy.

I made half this recipe that serves 6 hungry people:  16 oz. rotini, 2 tsp olive oil, small onion chopped, 2 tsp minced garlic, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, 3/4 lbs 90% lean ground beef, 1 can (14.5 oz) whole tomatoes in puree or juice reduced sodium, 1/2 cup raisins, 1/4 cup chopped pimiento-stuffed olives, parsley.  Boil pasta, save a cup of pasta water while draining, saute everything else in order giving onions about 5 minutes to start and same when you get to the beef.  When it fills the house with that cinnamon onion smell, combine with drained pasta and serve.

Leave a Reply

