switchtorealfood

Soy Cheeseburger

In Healthy Lunches on January 8, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Soy Cheeseburger

I baked cookies all morning because I didn’t get enough baking in over Christmas.  There are gingerbread hearts and Jammy Dodger like sugar cookies sitting in a heap on the counter with little people swiping them as they walk by.  To prevent me from eating the lot, I made this soy burger with cheese and vegetables.  It’s amazing how I looked forward to my lunch today instead of acting like the Cookie Monster.  By the way, snopes.com says that the Cookie Monster is NOT turning into the Veggie Monster.  That was just a rumor.  I’m pretty happy about that.  Some things need to stay the same.

Microwave frozen soy burger patty, layer on 1 oz. 50% reduced fat cheese and melt for about 20 seconds in microwave.  Place on thin whole wheat bun.  Spread with mustard and ketchup.  Top with slices of red onion, tomato, and green pepper or some lettuce.  I was out of lettuce but wanted the picture to look good.  And it tasted good too!  I think there is something in this idea of eating pretty.  Don’t eat what wouldn’t look colorful in a photo.  Fried chicken with mashed potatoes and a roll is not colorful.  Last year my husband deep fried a turkey for Thanksgiving.  That was probably the low point of our eating journey.  However, against all my doubts, it was extremely tasty.

Leave a Reply

