switchtorealfood

How to Fry an Egg

In Super Quick Meals on April 12, 2011 at 10:32 am

Seriously.  I’ve made enough “blackened eggs” in my time so I thought I’d share the best way to fry an egg and save you the trouble I’ve been through.  Thankfully, I learned this early on in my career as scullery maid from an auld Scottish wise one.

Perfectly Fried Egg on Toast

Ok, here’s what you do:

  • Heat up pan to hot
  • Melt a little butter in pan
  • Crack that egg into the hot pan
  • Turn down heat
  • Wait a minute
  • Add 1/4 a cup of water around the edges
  • Cover with see through lid
  • Cook until white on top of yolk turns white
  • Poke white covered yolk occasionally to get a feel for when it is done
  • Cut off extra white that went wild (trim to fried egg shape)
  • Lift with slotted lifter thing
  • Place on kitchen roll (paper towel) to get excess water off
  • Put on plate or buttered toast
  • Sprinkle paprika on egg

It works.  Go try it!!!

  1. I love soft boiled eggs on toast so maybe this would work without that gadget I bought that does work, but maybe this would be faster.

  2. Oh fried eggs brings me back to my mothers house and her making us a quick breakfast before heading out the door. Just reading this post brought back memories. Nice post.

  3. My wife complained that they couldn’t do this in England.

  4. Yay! I love eggs from sunny side up, scrambled, french toast, etc. I will definitely try this soon 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

